printer friendly

Western Australian Premier's Book Awards - 2011 Judging Panel

Dr Rose Lucas (Chair)
Bev Jacobson
Miffy Farquharson
Judi Jagger
Tehani Wessely
Delys Bird
Prof. Jan Carter
Assoc. Prof. Robyn McCarron
Dr Sarah McQuade
Dr Jean Chetkovich
Dr Wendy Were
Ken Kelso
Polly Low
Dr Tama Leaver

Dr Tama Leaver

Dr Tama Leaver gained his PhD from the University of Western Australia in 2006 and is a lecturer in the Department of Internet Studies at Curtin University and a Research Fellow in the ARC Centre of Excellence for Creative Industries and Innovation. He is the author of Artificial Culture: Identity, Technology and Bodies (Routledge, 2012), and Tama has also published a number of chapters and articles, including work in Comparative Literature Studies, Media International Australia, Popular Communication and the Fibreculture Journal.  His teaching and research focuses on the changing nature of identity online and shifts in the media landscape in the era of digital distribution. Tamaís main web presence is

Dr Wendy Were

Dr Wendy Were worked for several years with the Perth International Writers' Festival. She has been Deputy Director at the Institute of Advanced Studies, University of Western Australia and, in 2006 became the artistic director of the Sydney Writers' Festival. She is currently the CEO of the West Australian Music Industry Association Inc (WAM).

Ken Kelso

Ken Kelso is a renowned script writer having produced a number of scripts for film, television and theatre for almost thirty years. His scripts have received AFI nominations, The Adventures of Sam and Kicking Around, and AWGIE nominations for Where the Two Rivers Meet and On the Edge of Tomorrow. His writing for the feature film Manganinnie also won him an AWGIE in addition to the film receiving a number of European prizes. In addition to his writing, consulting and editing work, Ken has served as Chairman of the Western Australian Film Council, and Director of the WA Film Councilís Script Office in addition to Committee Member for the Australian Writers Guild. He is a graduate of the Australian Film, Television and Radio school in NSW and is currently undertaking his PhD at Murdoch University.