printer friendly

Shortlist for WA Premierís Book Awards

  • The Awards recognise and support excellence in writing across Australia
  • 2014 Awards are for books published in 2013

State Library of Western Australia CEO and State Librarian, Margaret Allen today announced the shortlist for the 2014 Western Australian Premierís Book Awards.

552 books were entered into the Awards over nine categories and it is the first year for the WA emerging writerís category. The Awards had strong entries from WA publishing houses including Fremantle Press, Magabala Books and UWA Publishing and titles from notable authors Tim Winton and Shaun Tan.

ďFrom emerging writer Sally-Ann Jonesís book Stellaís Sea set at Cottesloe beach, David Whish-Wilsonís book Perth describing life by the Swan River and Sarah Drummondís Salt Story about fisherwomen in Western Australia, the Western Australian Premierís Book Awards continue to attract the finest literary works created in Australia today,Ē Margaret Allen said.

ďThe State Library of Western Australia is proud to provide a cultural environment that stimulates the human imagination. We are delighted to once again manage the prestigious Western Australian Premierís Book Awards, which highlight the importance of literacy in Australia and showcase the abundance of talent in this country.Ē  

The shortlist includes Amanda Curtinís Elemental, which delves into the complexity of you don't know who you are until you know where you come from, and Tim Wintonís latest novel, Eyrie, asks how, in an impossibly compromised world, we can ever hope to do the right thing.

Another contender is Kristina Olssonís third title Boy, Lost: A family memoir which won the 2014 NSW Premierís Literary Award and is shortlisted for the 2014 Kibble Literary Award. Three shortlisted titles Richard Flanaganís The narrow road to the deep north, Tim Wintonís Eyrie and Evie Wyldís All the birds, singing are also contenders for the 2014 Miles Franklin Award.

The Peopleís Choice Award is sponsored by The West Australian. 

Fact File

  • Winners to be announced on 22 September 2014
  • The competition was open to works published in 2013

Western Australian Premier's Book Awards - 2014 Shortlist

Childrenís Books

Baby Bedtime - Mem Fox; illustrator Emma Quay (Penguin Group Australia)
Light horse boy - Dianne Wolfer; illustrator Brian Simmonds (Fremantle Press)
My superhero - Chris Owen; illustrator Moira Court (Fremantle Press)
Stay well soon - Penny Tangey (University of Queensland Press)
The Swap - Jan Ormerod; illustrator Andrew Joyner (Little Hare Books)
Violet Vanishes - Ursula Dubosarsky; illustrator Annie White (Hachette Australia)
Baby-Bedtime Light-Horse-BoyMy-Super-Hero Stay-Well-SoonThe-SwapViolet-Vanishes

Digital Narrative

Afterdeath - Evangeline Than and Gareth Lockett (Red Alpha Pty Ltd)
Authentic in All Caps - Christy Dena (Universe Creation 101)
Neomad - Stuart Campbell and Wah Cheung (Big hART)
Nothing you have done deserves such praise - Jason Nelson (Turbulence, New York City)
#PRISOM - Mez Breeze and Andy Campbell (Mez Breeze Design and Dreaming Methods)


All the birds, singing - Evie Wyld (Random House Australia)
Coal Creek - Alex Miller (Allen & Unwin)
Elemental - Amanda Curtin (UWA Publishing)
Eyrie - Tim Winton (Penguin Group Australia)
The life and loves of Lena Gaunt - Tracy Farr (Fremantle Press)
The narrow road to the deep north - Richard Flanagan (Random House Australia)


Broken Nation - Joan Beaumont (Allen & Unwin)
Boy, Lost: A Family Memoir - Kristina Olsson (University of Queensland Press)
Citizen Emperor - Philip Dwyer (Bloomsbury Publishing pty ltd)
Night games: sex, power and sport - Anna Krien (Black Inc)
Out of the Mountains: the coming age of the urban guerrilla - David Kilcullen (Scribe Publications)
The forgotten rebels of Eureka - Clare Wright (Text Publishing)


Hotel Hyperion - Lisa Gorton (Giramondo)
Six different windows - Paul Hetherington (UWA Publishing)
Stone Scar Air Water - Judy Johnson (Walleah Press)
Unearthed - Tracy Ryan (Fremantle Press)
Walking: new and selected poems - Kevin Brophy (Five Islands Press)
Xn - Carol Jenkins (Puncher and Wattmann)


Forget Me Not - Tom Holloway (Currency Press)
Maggie Stone - Caleb Lewis (Caleb Lewis)
Prompter - Sam Fox and Patrick Pittman (Hydra Poesis)   
The Beast - Eddie Perfect (Anti-Semantic Pty Ltd)
The Bull, the Moon and the Coronet of Stars - Van Badham (Currency Press)
The Secret River - Andrew Bovell (Currency Press)

Highly commended

An Accidental Soldier - Blake Ayshford (Cameron Creswell)

Western Australian Emerging Writers Award

Fractured - Dawn Barker (Hachette Australia)
Letters to the End of Love - Yvette Walker (University of Queensland Press)
Salt Story: of sea-dogs and fisherwomen - Sarah Drummond (Fremantle Press)
Stellaís Sea - Sally-Ann Jones (UWA Publishing)

Western Australian History Award

A town is born: The story of Fitzroy Crossing - Steve Hawke (Magabala Books)
Kerry Stokes: Self-made Man - Margaret Simons (Penguin Group Australia)
Koombana Days - Annie Boyd (Fremantle Press)
Perth - David Whish-Wilson (NewSouth Publishing)
Seeking Wisdom: a centenary history of The University of Western Australia - Jenny Gregory (UWA Publishing)
The Marriage Knot: Marriage and divorce in colonial Western Australia 1829-1900 - Penelope Hetherington (UWA Publishing)
A-Town-is-BornKerry-Stokes Koombana-Days Perth Seeking-Wisdom The-Marriage-Knot

Writing for Young Adults

Alex as well - Alyssa Brugman (Text Publishing)
Joyous and Moonbeam - Richard Yaxley (Omnibus Books)
Life in Outer Space - Melissa Keil (Hardie Grant Egmont)
My Life as an Alphabet - Barry Jonsberg (Allen & Unwin)
The Incredible Here and Now - Felicity Castagna (Giramondo)
You don't even know - Sue Lawson (Black Dog Books)

Highly commended

Cry blue murder - Kimberley Kane and Marion Roberts (University of Queensland Press)

Alex-As-WellJoyous-_and_-Moonbeam Life-In-Outer-Space My-Life-As-An-Alphabet The-Incredible-Here-And-Now You-Dont-Even-Know


The Premierís Prize will be awarded to the best overall entry from all category winners.

Find out more information about the categories and prize money.

Any queries about the awards can be directed to the State Library of Western Australia:
Telephone: (08) 9427 3151